Black Wolves Announce Roster For 2017-18 Season

UNCASVILLE, Conn. (November 22, 2017) – The New England Black Wolves have finalized the roster for the 2017-18 National Lacrosse League season.

The Black Wolves will be anchored by a core of returning veterans, including two-time NLL MVP Shawn Evans, and bolstered by a group of newcomers. “By all accounts, this was the toughest training camp the Black Wolves have had to date and the talent and skill level of the players selected certainly reflect that.” Black Wolves General Manager Rich Lisk said. “We made some tough decisions, but we are confident and excited about the product we will be putting on the field for the 2018 season.” Among the returning veterans, Evans will look to build upon a year in which he led the team in points (103) and assists (65) and scored 100 points for a league record fifth consecutive time. He is joined by Kevin Crowley, who had a career-best 45 goals in 2017 as well as Kevin Buchanan, Kyle Buchanan, Reilly O’Connor, Jay Thorimbert, Sheldon Burns, Derek Suddons and Brett Manney. Second-year players Seth Oakes, Doug Jamieson, Matt Spanger, Joel Coyle and Reilly O’Connor also return to the roster.

Newcomers to New England will be NLL veterans Aaron Bold, John LaFontaine, David Brock and Adam Bomberry. Bold, a two-time Champions Cup winner in goal, and LaFontaine were acquired via trade from the Saskatchewan Rush while Bomberry joined the team in a trade with the Rochester Knighthawks and Brock signed a free agent contract with the Black Wolves. They are joined by second-year forward Mark Cockerton and 2017 NLL Entry Draft selections Colton Watkinson and JP Kealey.

Season tickets and mini plans are on sale now. Tickets start as low as $15 and can be purchased by visiting or calling 844-LAX-WOLF.

Active Roster    
No.  Name Pos. Hometown
77 Aaron Bold G Victoria, BC
10 Adam Bomberry D Akwesasne, NY
4 David Brock D Burlington, ON
27 Kevin Buchanan F Cockeysville, MD
91 Kyle Buchanan F Nepean, ON
71 Sheldon Burns D Whitby, ON
41 Mark Cockerton F Oshawa, ON
24 Joel Coyle D Orangeville, ON
21 Kevin Crowley F New Westminster, BC
15 Shawn Evans F Peterborough, ON
30 Doug Jamieson G Ohsweken, ON
83 JP Kealey F Ottawa, ON
33 John LaFontaine T Whitby, ON
13 Brett Manney D Newtown, PA
9 Reilly O’Connor F Whitby, ON
12 Seth Oakes F Akwesasne, NY
45 Matt Spanger D Toronto, ON
7 Derek Suddons D Whitby, ON
75 Jay Thorimbert T Niagara-On-The Lake, ON
17 Colton Watkinson T Burlington, ON
Practice Roster    
No.  Name    
22 Nick Chaykowsky F Bradford, ON
44 Anthony Joaquim T Guelph, ON
23 Nick Mariano F Yorktown Heights, NY
67 Rance Vigneaux G Guilford, ON