Black Wolves Select Three In 2017 NLL Entry Draft First Round

OAKVILLE, Ont. (September 18, 2017) – The New England Black Wolves made three selections in the first round of the 2017 NLL Entry Draft on Monday evening at the Toronto Rock Athletic Centre.

New England selected Colton Watkinson with the 7th overall pick after receiving the pick in a trade with the Georgia Swarm, Anthony Joaquim with 8th overall pick and JP Kealey with the 10th overall pick.

Watkinson, who won three NCAA Division II titles at Limestone College, earned USILA/Nike First Team All-American honors and was selected the Lt. J.G. Donald MacLaughlin Jr. Award as the Most Outstanding Midfielder as a senior in 2017. He had 11 points on 10 goals and one assist in 13 regular season games in Major Series Lacrosse play with the Brooklin Redmen this summer. 

Joaquim, a two-time gold medalist with Team Ontario in field lacrosse, tied for second all-time with 62 games played during his career at St. Joseph’s University. He had 26 points along with 140 ground balls and 35 caused turnovers during his collegiate career. In MSL action this summer, he saw action in six games for the Brampton Excelsiors, scoring two goals and dishing out one assist.

A member of the Langley Thunder in the Western Lacrosse Association this summer, Keaely had 43 points on 20 goals and 23 assists in 12 games. He had a season-high six points – three goals, three assists – twice. Kealey earned All-NEC Rookie Team honors while playing collegiately at Robert Morris. 

The Black Wolves also selected Nick Chaykowsky with the 17th overall pick. He played collegiately at Nipissing and spent this past summer in Junior A with the Barrie Lakeshores before being traded to the New Westminster Salmonbellies for the playoffs. With the 27th pick, New England took Larken Kemp from Brown University. A First Team All-American with the Bears, the Greenwich, Conn. native ranked 12th in the nation in caused turnovers at 1.84 in his final season before spending the summer with the Denver Outlaws in Major League Lacrosse. 

With the 37th overall selection, New England chose Nick Mariano from Syracuse University. A First Team All-American, Mariano led the Orange in his final two seasons of collegiate play after transferring from UMass. 

The Black Wolves picked Matt Rambo, the 2017 Tewaaraton Award winner, with the 46th overall selection. The career points and career goals leader in Maryland lacrosse history, Rambo was a two-time First Team All-American and the 2017 Enners Award honoree as the nation’s Most Outstanding Player. With the 54th pick, New England selected Cam Milligan from the University of Vermont. Milligan led the Catamounts with 44 points on 22 goals and 22 assists in his senior season.

2018 season tickets are on sale now and start at just $17 per game. In addition, special on-field experiences are available for groups of 10 or more. Tickets can be purchased by clicking here or calling 844-LAX-WOLF.