Buchanan Winner Of NLL Sportsmanship Award

On Tuesday, September 29th, Black Wolves forward Kyle Buchanan was honored with the 2015 NLL Sportsmanship Award at the NLL Season Awards Ceremony in Toronto, Ont. 

The award, given to a player deemed to have exemplified a high level of sportsmanship to go along with outstanding play on the turf, is determined by a vote of the league’s Board of Governors, general managers and head coaches at the end of the regular season. 

“To say that I was ever going to be recognized for a league award was always a dream,” Buchanan said. “Being kind of a small guy from Ottawa, I kind of took a funny path to the NLL. To be in the same room with those guys last night was a pretty big honor.”

Buchanan recorded zero penalty minutes for the second-straight season and was one of only two NLL players to who recorded no penalties while playing in all 18 regular season games. The forward posted 25 goals, 37 assists and 62 points for the Black Wolves, all of which ranked second on the team. His 98 loose balls was second-most among all NLL forwards. Buchanan has registered just two penalty minutes in 45 games during his three-year NLL career. 

“I don’t really think about it that way,” Buchanan said about playing penalty free. “I was aware of (not having any penalties I guess. How I think about is that I’m trying not to put my team at risk. My job is not to get penalties. If I get a penalty it’s situational.”

Here is a complete list of all 2015 NLL Season Award Winners:

Teammate of the Year Award: Joel McCready (Vancouver Stealth)
Pinty’s Wingman of the Year Award: Josh Sanderson (Toronto Rock)
Sportsmanship Award: Kyle Buchanan (New England Black Wolves)
Executive of the Year: Bruce Urban (Saskatchewan Rush)
General Manager of the Year: Terry Sanderson (Toronto Rock)
Head Coach of the Year (Les Bartley Award): John Lovell (Toronto Rock)
Defensive Player of the Year: Kyle Rubisch (Saskatchewan Rush)
Transition Player of the Year: Joey Cupido (Colorado Mammoth)
Goaltender of the Year: Matt Vinc (Rochester Knighthawks)
Rookie of the Year: Ben McIntosh (Saskatchewan Rush)
Most Valuable Player: Shawn Evans (Calgary Roughnecks)