Doug Jamieson Named NLL Goaltender of the Year

Doug Jamieson Named NLL Goaltender of the Year

-Jamieson & Crawford named to All-League First Team-

-Kew & Nardella land on All-League Rookie Team-


UNCASVILLE, CT. (June 30, 2020) – The National Lacrosse League (NLL) announced today the winners for the 2020 NLL Awards. New England Black Wolves’ goalie, Doug Jamieson, was named NLL Goaltender of the Year. This was the first NLL Award of Jamieson’s career.


“Doug has matured into a top-end NLL goalie,” head coach Glenn Clark said. “When we drafted Dougie this is the trajectory that we thought he would take. He’s been patient and professional in his development and we are seeing the benefits of his approach.”


The Ohsweken, ON native, led the league in save percentage (.829) and goals against average (8.80). He also increased his save percentage to 82.9% from 78.4% in 2019 and cut his goals allowed average to 8.80 from 12.28 a year ago. 


Jamieson helped lead the Black Wolves to an 8-3 record, which tied him for first in the league in wins. He concluded the season with 462 saves in 11 games and had the team on pace to have the fewest goals allowed in the league since the 2014 Edmonton Rush.


In addition to being named Goaltender of the Year, Jamieson earned a spot on the All-League First Team alongside teammate Callum Crawford. A top three finalist for MVP this season, Crawford led the league in goals (33) and points (76). 


New England also secured two spots on the All-League Rookie team. Forward Andrew Kew and defenseman Joe Nardella were each named to the team after strong first year performances. Kew appeared in 10 games, scored 15 goals and tallied 27 assists which placed in third among rookies in points and tied for first in assists. Nardella known for his faceoff skills, appeared in 11 competitions and finished ranked first against rookies in faceoff win percentage (.578) and second in total wins with 160.


On April 8, the NLL announced the cancellation of the remaining regular season games and then announced on June 4, the decision to shift focus to the 2020-21 season. For more information about the New England Black Wolves visit,



Full List of Award Winners

Most Valuable Player: Shayne Jackson, Georgia

Rookie of the Year: Tyson Gibson, New York

Sportsmanship Award: Lyle Thompson, Georgia

Defensive Player of the Year: Graeme Hossack, Halifax

Transition Player of the Year: Challen Rogers, Toronto

Goaltender of the Year: Doug Jamieson, New England

Teammate of the Year: Dan Dawson, Toronto, AND Mike Poulin, Georgia (t)

Les Bartley Award Coach of the Year: Paul Day, Philadelphia

General Manager of the Year: Paul Day, Philadelphia

Tom Borrelli Award Media Member of the Year: Craig Rybczynski, Rochester

Executive of the Year: John Catalano, Halifax


All-League First Team

Doug Jamieson, New England, Goaltender

Graeme Hossack, Rochester, Defense

Kyle Rubisch, Saskatchewan, Defense

Challen Rogers, Toronto, Transition

Shayne Jackson, Georgia, Forward

Callum Crawford, New England, Forward


All-League Second Team

Dillon Ward, Colorado, Goaltender

Robert Hope, Colorado, Defense

Dan MacRae, New York, Defense

Kiel Matisz, Philadelphia, Transition

Rob Hellyer, Toronto, Forward

Cody Jamieson, Halifax, Forward


All-Rookie Team

Tyson Gibson, New York, Forward

Andrew Kew, New England, Forward

Connor Fields, San Diego, Forward

Clarke Peterson, Halifax, Forward

Ryland Rees, Rochester, Transition

Joe Nardella, New England, Defense